Regions of Malta

Buy data    Donate


Addressing expert Graham Rhind  informs me that the Maltese postal code system was revamped in 2007.

Act No. XVI of 2009 was passed on 2009-09-30. It amends the Local Councils Act of 1993. One of its provisions is to add a new schedule titled "Regions". This schedule lists five regions with the local councils that belong to each. I have concluded that these replace the former three regions, effective with the Act.

According to Malta's Department of Local Councils (source [2]), Malta was divided into 68 localities under the Local Councils Act, published on 1993-06-30. The act was extensively amended on 1999-12-21. Obviously, the localities are governed by local councils. The localities were grouped into three regions.

Country overview: 

Short nameMALTA
ISO codeMT
LanguageMaltese (mt), English (en)
Time zone+1 ~


Malta was part of the British Empire until its independence on 1964-09-21.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Malta
  2. Dutch: Malta, Republiek Malta (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Malta (formal)
  4. Finnish: Malta
  5. French: Malte f
  6. German: Malta n, Republik f Malta (formal)
  7. Italian: Malta f
  8. Maltese: Repubblika ta' Malta (formal)
  9. Norwegian: Malta, Republikken Malta (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Malta n (f in Brazil), República f de Malta (formal)
  11. Russian: Республика Мальта (formal)
  12. Spanish: Malta, República f de Malta f (formal)
  13. Swedish: Malta
  14. Turkish: Malta Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

from Phoenician for refuge

Primary subdivisions: 

Malta is divided into five regions without administrative functions.

South EasternMT.SE89,9747730

Postal codes: 

Maltese postal codes consist of a three-letter locality code, a space, and four digits. Before 2007, Malta used a mixed system of postal codes. The numeric part was two digits for locations on the island of Malta, or three digits on Gozo (source [7]).

Further subdivisions:

See the Localities of Malta page.

The regions are subdivided into localities.

At the NUTS-3 level, Malta is divided into the island of Malta (code MT001) and Gozo and Comino (MT002). These are not administrative divisions.

Territorial extent: 

Malta consists of the islands of Malta, Gozo (Maltese: Ghawdex), Comino (Kemmuna), Cominotto, Selmunett, and Filfla, and a few tiny islets. Only the first three are inhabited. Central, Northern, South Eastern, and Southern regions correspond to the island of Malta; Gozo region corresponds to all of the other islands. Within Gozo region, Ghajnsielem local council contains part of Gozo and all of Comino (and probably the smaller islands).

The UN LOCODE page  for Malta lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

The following table shows statistical districts used prior to 1993 (source [6]).

Gozo and CominoGO26,00070
Inner HarbourIH118,00015
Outer HarbourOH75,00032
South EasternSE35,00053
  • Population: 1967-11-26 census.
  • Code: Arbitrary code, used
    on Localities page.


~1990: Inner Harbour and Outer Harbour districts regrouped to form Northern Harbour and Southern Harbour.

1993-06-30: Local Councils Act (source [2]), divided Malta into 68 localities, grouped into three regions.

Malta MajjistralMT.MM215,222170
Malta XlokkMT.MX133,88476


2004-05-01: Malta joined the European Union.

2009-09-30: Act No. XVI of 2009 created Central and Northern regions from Malta Majjistral, Southern region from Malta Xlokk, and South Eastern region from parts of both Malta Majjistral and Malta Xlokk.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Malta Majjistral: North Western (variant)
  2. Malta Xlokk: South Eastern (variant)


  1. [1] Act No. XVI of 2009 (,%202009%20MT%20&%20EN.pdf - dead link, retrieved 2009-11-10, 32 pages in Maltese followed by 32 pages in English). More recently, the list of regions formed by this act has been available at Chapter 363: Local Councils Act , p. 126 (the last page), retrieved 2012-10-09.
  2. [2] Department of Local Councils website ( - dead link, retrieved 2002-11-17).
  3. [3] National Statistics Office (NSO) archives - publications  has a number of links. The ones headed "Demographic Review of the Maltese Islands" include population estimates for different years.
  4. [4] NSO traffic accident summary  shows the relation between statistical districts and local councils.
  5. [5] Census of Population and Housing, 2005: Volume 1, Population .
  6. [6] Encyclopædia Britannica, 15th edition. Chicago, 1984.
  7. [7] Postal Addressing Systems, a pdf file released by the Universal Postal Union, 1997.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2002-2005, 2009-2012, 2015 by Gwillim Law.