Provinces of Equatorial Guinea

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu has provided me with some documentation about changes in Equatorial Guinea. A new city, Oyala, has been built as a future capital. Its name has been changed to Djibloho; formal name, Djibloho de Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. And now it has been split from Añisok district as a new district, and simultaneously made a new province, split from Wele-Nzas province, both named Djibloho.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter II-3 is dated 2011-12-15. This update changes the spelling of some province names. Following ISO, I have removed the accent from Wele-Nzás.

Country overview: 

ISO codeGQ
LanguageSpanish (es)
Time zone+1


At the start of the 20th century, there were three Spanish colonies called Elobey, Annobón y Corisco; Fernando Póo; and Guinea Continental Española. In 1909 they were united under one administration, forming Territorios Españoles del Golfo de Guinea. The more convenient name Guinea Española was used increasingly, and finally became official. On 1968-10-12 it became an independent country.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Ækvatorialguinea, Republikken Ækvatorialguinea
  2. Dutch: Equatoriaal-Guinea, Equatoriaal Guinee, Republiek Equatoriaal-Guinea (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Equatorial Guinea (formal)
  4. Finnish: Päiväntasaajan Guinea
  5. French: Guinée f équatoriale
  6. German: Äquatorialguinea n
  7. Icelandic: Miðbaugs-Gínea
  8. Italian: Guinea f Equatoriale
  9. Norwegian: Ekvatorial-Guinea, Republikken Ekvatorial-Guinea (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Guiné Equatorial, República f da Guiné f Equatorial (formal)
  11. Russian: Республика Экваториальная Гвинея (formal)
  12. Spanish: Guinea Ecuatorial, República f de Guinea f Ecuatorial (formal)
  13. Swedish: Ekvatorialguinea
  14. Turkish: Ekvatoral Gine Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

Descriptive: lies near the equator and on the Gulf of Guinea (see Guinea)

Primary subdivisions: 

Equatorial Guinea is divided into eight provinces.

Province HASCISOFIPSRegPopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
Annobón GQ.ANANEK03I5,232 177San Antonio de Palea
Bioko NorteGQ.BNBNEK04I299,836776300Malabo
Bioko Sur GQ.BSBSEK05I34,627 1,241479Luba
Centro Sur GQ.CSCSEK06C141,9039,9313,834Evinayong
Djibloho GQ.DJ EK09CDjibloho
Kié-Ntem GQ.KNKNEK07C183,3313,9431,522Ebebiyín
Litoral GQ.LILIEK08C366,1306,6652,573Bata
Wele-Nzas GQ.WEWNEK09C191,3835,4782,115Mongomo
8 provinces 1,222,44228,05110,830
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Province codes from ISO standard 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • Reg: Region (for key, see "Further subdivisions" below).
  • Population: 2015-07-19 census, preliminary results (Source [3])

Further subdivisions:

See the Districts of Equatorial Guinea page.

Equatorial Guinea also uses a subdivision into two regions. ISO 3166-2 lists them, assigning them the one-letter codes shown below, and FIPS assigns them the four-character codes shown. These regions were the former provinces of the country.

CRegión ContinentalEK02Río Muni
IRegión InsularEK01Bioko


Before 1963, Fernando Póo was subdivided into four regional districts, and Río Muni was subdivided into 11 municipios.

Territorial extent: 

Litoral province contains the islands of Corisco, Elobey Chico, and Elobey Grande in the Muni estuary.

The UN LOCODE page  for Equatorial Guinea lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Annobón: From Portuguese anno bom: happy new year, discovered on 1471-01-01.
  2. Bioko: After Adolfo Bioco, who in turn was born in a village named Bioko. Norte: North. Sur: South.
  3. Centro Sur: Spanish for Center-South.
  4. Fernando Póo: after the Portuguese navigator Fernando Póo, who discovered it and called it Ilha Formosa (beautiful island).
  5. Litoral: Spanish for Coastal.
  6. Macías Nguema Biyogo: After Francisco Macías (later Masie) Nguema Biyogo Ñegue Ndong, dictator from 1968 until his overthrow in 1979.
  7. Río Muni: From the estuary at the southwestern corner of the territory, misnamed as a river by early explorers. Muni is a Pamue word for big.

Change history: 

  1. 1935-04-16: Guinea Española colony subdivided into two districts: Fernando Póo (capital Santa Isabel, included Annobón Island) and Guinea Continental (capital Bata, included Corisco and Elobey).
  2. 1960-04-01: Status of districts changed to Spanish overseas provinces. Guinea Continental renamed Río Muni.
  3. 1963-12-20: Fernando Póo and Río Muni province were combined to form Guinea Ecuatorial autonomous region.
  4. 1973: Name of Fernando Póo island and province changed to Macías Nguema Biyogo (sometimes given as just Macías Nguema); name of Río Muni province changed to Mbini; name of national capital changed from Santa Isabel to Malabo; name of Annobón island changed to Pagalu.
  5. 1979: Name of Macías Nguema Biyogo changed to Bioko; name of Mbini restored to Río Muni; name of Pagalu restored to Annobón.
  6. ~1990: The provinces became regions, and were subdivided into the seven new provinces.
  7. 2015-08-03: Djibloho province split from Wele-Nzas (former HASC code GQ.WN).

Population history:

Bioko Norte46,22175,137231,428299,836
Bioko Sur10,96912,56929,03434,627
Centro Sur52,39360,341125,856141,903


Sources for census data: 2015 - [3], 2001 - [2], 1994 - [1]

Other names of subdivisions: 

Fernando Póo: Fernando Po (variant)


  1. [1] FAO: Documento de Perspectiva - República de Guinea Ecuatorial  (retrieved 2007-05-18). Cites "Estado de población: Resultados del II Censo de Población y II de Viviendas de 1994".
  2. [2] Evolución y Distribución de la población total por sexo y región . Dirección General de Estadística y Cuentas Nacionales (retrieved 2007-06-05). Paolo Pagani has pointed out that the implied growth rate from 1994 to 2001 is impossibly high. The earlier census may be understated, or the later one exaggerated.
  3. [3] Censo de Población 2015: Resultados Preliminares . Ministerio de Economía, Planificación e Inversiones Públicas (retrieved 2016-03-06).
  4. [4] "Solemn inauguration of the new city of Djibloho ". Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office (dated 2015-08-03, retrieved 2016-04-22).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2016-03-22
Copyright © 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016 by Gwillim Law.