States of South Sudan

Buy data    Donate


Paraskevas Renesis and Fabien Antoine sent me links to sources [5] and [6], showing that South Sudan is getting 28 new states. The sources list the counties composing each of the new states. Comparing those lists to the counties I already knew about, I find that at least nine new counties have been created. All but three of the existing counties have been assigned to the new states. Those three include one each in the states of Jungoli, Upper Nile, and West Bahr-al-Ghazal. In other words, all of the known counties in the other seven old states have been reassigned to new states. Is there anything left of the seven old states? To add to the confusion, around the end of 2014, rebel leader Riek Machar proclaimed the dissolution of the ten states and the formation of twenty-one new ones, and appointed governors for the 21. This change was apparently never officially recognized. I will wait until the situation clarifies before making an update.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter II-3 is dated 2011-12-15. It assigns new two-letter codes to the states of South Sudan. For the two-digit codes they had when they were part of Sudan, see the Sudan article.

On 2011-09-02, the government of South Sudan announced that the capital would be moved from Juba to Ramciel, in Lakes state. A federal territory will probably be created around it, separate from Lakes. The move is expected to take several years.

Update 5 to Geopolitical Entities and Codes, the successor to FIPS PUB 10-4, was issued on 2011-08-31. It has codes for the states, based on their new country code. Update 3 was issued on 2011-02-28. It changes the spelling of a state name.

Newsletter VI-10 is an update to ISO 3166-1, dated 2011-08-09. It assigns country code SS to South Sudan.

Abyei is still under dispute. At present writing, it is still part of Southern Kordofan in Sudan. If it becomes part of South Sudan, it will probably merge with Warap.

Country overview: 

ISO codeSS
LanguageArabic (ar)
Time zone+3


South Sudan split from Sudan in 2011. For its previous history, see the Sudan article.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Sydsudan
  2. Dutch: Zuid-Soedan
  3. English: Republic of South Sudan (formal)
  4. Finnish: Etelä-Sudan
  5. French: République f du Soudan m du Sud (formal), Sud-Soudan m
  6. German: Republik f Südsudan (formal), Südsudan m
  7. Icelandic: Suður-Súdan
  8. Italian: Sudan m del Sud
  9. Norwegian: Sør-Sudan
  10. Portuguese: Sudão m do Sul, Sudão Meridional
  11. Russian: Южный Судан
  12. Spanish: Sudán del Sur, República f de Sudán m del Sur (formal)
  13. Swedish: Sydsudan
  14. Turkish: Güney Sudan Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

southern part of Sudan

Primary subdivisions: 

South Sudan is divided into 10 wilayat (states).

Central EquatoriaSS.BGECOD011,103,59222,9568,863JubaEquatoria
East EquatoriaSS.EEEEOD02906,12682,54231,870ToritEquatoria
JungoliSS.JGJGOD031,358,602122,47947,289BorUpper Nile
LakesSS.EBLKOD04695,73040,23515,535RumbekBahr el Ghazal
North Bahr-al-GhazalSS.NBBNOD05720,89833,55812,957AwilBahr el Ghazal
UnitySS.WHUYOD06585,80135,95613,883BantioUpper Nile
Upper NileSS.UNNUOD07964,35377,77330,028MalakalUpper Nile
WarapSS.WRWROD08972,92831,02711,980KuacjokBahr el Ghazal
West Bahr-al-GhazalSS.WBBWOD09333,43193,90036,255WauBahr el Ghazal
West EquatoriaSS.WEEWOD10619,02979,31930,625YambioEquatoria
10 states8,260,490619,745239,285
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO 3166-2. For full identification in a global context, prefix "SS-"
    to the code (ex: SS-UY represents Unity).
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • Population: 2008-04-22 census (source [4]).
  • Area: Source: various Sudanese embassy Web pages.
  • Region: Region containing this state before 1994.

Further subdivisions:

See the Counties of South Sudan page.

The states are subdivided into counties. The regions (a.k.a. divisions) are still recognized, although not functional now.

Territorial extent: 

There is a triangle adjacent to the Kenya border that is administered by Kenya but part of South Sudan (Eastern Equatoria state).

The UN LOCODE page  for South Sudan lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Bahr-al-Ghazal: Arabic "river of the gazelles"
  2. Equatoria: area closest to the Equator, although nowhere farther south than 3° N. latitude

Change history: 

  1. 2011-07-09: South Sudan split from Sudan. HASC codes for the states changed from SD.xx to SS.xx.

Other names of subdivisions: 

The article al is sometimes transliterated el. Before certain consonants, it is usually assimilated, as in Ash Shamaliyah (instead of Al Shamaliyah).


  1. Equatoria: Al Istiwā'ī, Al Istiwā'īyah (Arabic); Equatória (Portuguese)
  2. Upper Nile: A`ālī an Nīl (Arabic); Alto Nilo (Portuguese)


  1. Central Equatoria: Bahr el Gabel, Bahr-al-Jabal (obsolete)
  2. East Equatoria: Al Istiwā'īyah ash Sharqīyah, Sharq al Istiwā'īyah (Arabic); Eastern Equatoria (variant); Équatoria oriental (French)
  3. Jungoli: Jonglei, Jonglie, Jonqley, Junglei, Junqalī (variant); Jongley (French)
  4. Lakes: Al Buhairat, Al Buḥayrah, Buheirat, El Boheirat, El Buhayrat (variant); El Buheyrah (French)
  5. North Bahr-al-Ghazal: North Bahr-al-Gazal, North Bahr el Ghazal, Northern Bahr el-Ghazal (variant); Shamal Bahr al Ghazal (Arabic)
  6. Unity: Al-Wahdah, Wahda (variant)
  7. Upper Nile: a`Ālī an Nīl (Arabic); Nil supérieur (French)
  8. Warap: Warab, Warrab, Warrap (variant)
  9. West Bahr-al-Ghazal: Bahr al-Ghazāl al Gharbīyah, Gharb Bahr al-Ghazāl (Arabic); Bahr el-Ghazal occidental (French); Western Bahr el Ghazal (variant)
  10. West Equatoria: Al Istiwā'īyah al Gharbīyah, Gharb al Istiwā'īyah (Arabic); Équatoria occidental (French); Western Equatoria (variant)


  1. [1] Population , from Central Bureau of Statistics report on the 2008 census, has proleptic region populations back to 1973. Totals don't quite match state and region figures, probably because of rounding.
  2. [2] UNMIS CPA Monitor had an article on the South Sudan agreement (, dead link, retrieved 2007).
  3. [3] NileBuffalo Gazette  says, "Kapoeta is the capital of [East Equatoria] but currently the headquarter or the administrative offices of the State is based in Torit." Elsewhere , it says, "[Warap]'s capital city is Warab it might be changed to Kuajok." (retrieved 2011-08-10).
  4. [4] Priority Results  from the Fifth Sudan Population and Housing Census, 2008. Central Bureau of Statistics. Dated 2009-04-08, retrieved 2011-08-10.
  5. [5] Gurtong (Peace) website . Dated 2015-10-04, retrieved 2015-11-04.
  6. [6] A blog  dated 2015-10-02, retrieved 2015-11-04.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-11-04
Copyright © 2003-2011, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.