Arrondissements of Martinique

Buy data    Donate


I added the legal populations for 2010.

Country overview: 

ISO codeMQ
LanguageFrench (fr)
Time zone-4


Martinique was a French colony until 1946, when it became an overseas department, and thus in theory a peer of any of the European departments of France. In 1974, when French regions were established, it became a one-department region as well. Martinique has a NUTS code of FR92 (as a region, or FR920 as a department), a department code of 972, and postal codes of the form 972xx, all of which are extensions of the French system.

Other names of country: 

  1. English: Department of Martinique (formal)
  2. French: Martinique f
  3. Icelandic: Martiník
  4. Italian: Martinica
  5. Norwegian: Martinique
  6. Portuguese: Martinica
  7. Russian: Мартиника
  8. Spanish: Martinica f
  9. Turkish: Martinik

Origin of name: 

named by Columbus, probably from native name Madinina: island of lush vegetation

Primary subdivisions: 

Martinique is divided into four arrondissements.

Fort-de-FranceMQ.FF972 1166,885166,23817166
MarinMQ.MA972 3123,479106,771409158
Saint-PierreMQ.SP972 424,05623,43621081
TrinitéMQ.TR972 286,11584,880338130
4 arrondissements400,535381,3251,128436
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • INSEE: Territory codes from French national statistics agency.
  • Pop-2010: 2010-01-01 legal population (source [1]).
  • Pop-1999: 1999-03 census (source [2]).
  • Capitals have the same name as their arrondissements.

Further subdivisions:

See the Communes of Martinique page.

The arrondissements are subdivided into communes.

Territorial extent: 

Martinique includes the island of Martinique and a few adjacent islets, such as Îlet Ramville, Îlet Long, and Îlet Cabri.

The UN LOCODE page  for Martinique lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

Fort-de-France: originally Fort Royal, name changed for patriotic reasons after the French Revolution

Change history: 

  1. 1946-03-19: Martinique became a département d'outre-mer (overseas department) of France. It had one arrondissement, Fort-de-France.
  2. 1965-09-15: Trinité arrondissement split from Fort-de-France.
  3. 1974-04-26: Marin arrondissement split from Fort-de-France.
  4. 1973-03-02: Martinique became an overseas region of France, also remaining an overseas department.
  5. 1995-05: Saint-Pierre arrondissement created (probably split from Fort-de-France).

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Marin: Le Marin (variant)
  2. Trinité: La Trinité (variant)


  1. [1] Populations légales ... . Insee (retrieved 2013-05-04).
  2. [2] l'Atlas français 2001.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2001, 2003-2005, 2011, 2013-2015 by Gwillim Law.