Districts of Luxembourg

Buy data    Donate


Fabien Antoine sent links to sources [4] and [5]. On 2014-07-18 the Government Council ("Conseil de gouvernement") adopted a bill abolishing the districts, leaving no institution intervening between the State and the communes; this would imply that the cantons are also abolished.

NUTS (Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics) is a European standard which assigns codes to regions at various levels in each country. The NUTS code for Luxembourg is LU followed by the appropriate number of zeros at levels 0-3.

Country overview: 

ISO codeLU
LanguageLuxemburgish, French (fr), German (de)
Time zone+1 ~


Luxembourg has been an independent country for the whole of the 20th century.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Luxembourg
  2. Dutch: Luxemburg, Groothertogdom Luxemburg (formal)
  3. English: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (formal)
  4. Finnish: Luxemburg
  5. French: Luxembourg, Grand-Duché m de Luxembourg m (formal)
  6. German: Luxemburg n, Großherzogtum n Luxemburg (formal)
  7. Icelandic: Lúxemborg
  8. Italian: Lussemburgo m
  9. Norwegian: Luxembourg, Luxemburg, Storhertugdřmmet Luxembourg (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Luxemburgo, Grăo-Ducado m do Luxemburgo m (formal)
  11. Russian: Великое Герцогство Люксембург (formal)
  12. Spanish: Luxemburgo, Gran Ducado m de Luxemburgo m (formal)
  13. Swedish: Luxemburg
  14. Turkish: Lüksemburg Grand Düşesliği (formal)

Origin of name: 

Old High German Lützelburg: little fort

Primary subdivisions: 

Luxembourg is divided into three districts.

3 districts512,3532,586999
  • ISO: Codes from ISO 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • Population: 2011-01-01 census.
  • Capitals: Capitals have the same names as their districts.

Postal codes: 

Luxembourg uses four-digit postal codes. They don't correlate well with district or canton boundaries. Note: postal codes for addresses in Luxembourg can be identified by prefixing them with "L-".

Further subdivisions:

See the Communes of Luxembourg page.

The districts were subdivided into cantons (Kantone in German), which are now obsolete. At a lower level, Luxembourg is divided into municipalities (communes in French, Gemeinden in German).

Territorial extent: 

The UN LOCODE page  for Luxembourg lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Diekirch: probably from Old High German diot: people, kirch: church (the people's church)
  2. Grevenmacher: from Latin maceria: enclosing wall, with the later addition of Luxemburgish Greven: count, i.e., the Count's Macher (by way of distinction from other towns named Macher)

Change history: 

  1. 1843-02-24: Luxembourg divided into three districts: Diekirch, Grevenmacher, and Luxembourg.
  2. 1857-05-30: Mersch district created by taking Mersch canton from Luxembourg district and Redange from Diekirch.
  3. 1867-05-04: Mersch district dissolved, with its cantons returning to their former districts.
  4. 1993-11-01: Under the Maastricht Treaty, the European Union replaced the European Communities, of which Luxembourg was a member.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Diekirch: Dikrech, Dikkrich (Luxemburgish)
  2. Grevenmacher: Gréivemaacher (Luxemburgish)

Population history:

3 districts134,082194,719204,028236,125259,027261,643296,913290,992314,889339,841364,602384,634439,539512,353
Dates are census dates. Figures have been corrected to the present-day territories of districts.


Note: There is a disagreement between sources [1] and [2] concerning the results of the 2001 census. The table above follows source [2]. Source [1] shows the population of Diekirch as 67,454, and that of Luxembourg district as 320,137.


  1. [1] Résultats détaillés du recensement 2001 (http://statec.gouvernement.lu/html_fr/statistiques/RP2001_resultats_detailles.pdf, dead link, retrieved 2004-02-10).
  2. [2] Bevölkerungsentwicklung pro Kanton und Distrikt von 1821 bis 2002. Ministry of the Interior (http://www.etat.lu/MI/MAT/RegNord/Tab2.pdf, dead link, retrieved 2004-02-10).
  3. [3] Recueil de statistiques par commune 2003. Statec (http://www.statec.lu/recueil/pdf/recueil_internet.pdf, dead link, retrieved 2004-02-10).
  4. [4] "Le ministre de l'Intérieur annonce la fin des districts (The Interior minister announces the end of the districts). Luxemburger Wort (online newspaper, article in French) (retrieved 2014-10-06).
  5. [5] "La nouvelle carte du Luxembourg dévoilée (The new map of Luxembourg unveiled). L'essentiel (online newspaper, article in French) (retrieved 2014-12-15).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-10-20
Copyright © 2004, 2005, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.