Autonomous Islands of Comoros

Buy data    Donate


Newsletter II-2, an update to the ISO 3166-2 standard, is dated 2010-06-30. It changes the names of the autonomous islands in languages other than English and French.

ISO 3166-1 Newsletter Number V-7, dated 2003-01-14, shows the change of the official name of the Comoros from Islamic Federal Republic of the Comoros to Union of the Comoros. The change was reported on this page on 2002-05-22.

On 2001-12-23, a referendum was held on a new constitution, which passed by a majority of almost 77%. The constitution provides that the country's name will be Union des Comores, and it comprises the autonomous islands of Anjouan, Grande Comore, Mayotte, and Mohéli. Mayotte is in fact a territorial collectivity of France, and has been since 1976. Before that it had been part of the Comoro Islands protectorate. The new Comoros constitution would allow Mayotte to rejoin the country on an equal basis with the other three islands. Paraskevas Renesis reports that Anjouan and Mohéli adopted their fundamental laws (constitutions) on 2002-03-10, and Grande Comore followed suit on 2002-04-07. Their status has therefore changed from governorates to autonomous islands.

I have recently acquired newer population figures for the divisions of the Comoros.

Country overview: 

Short nameCOMOROS
ISO codeKM
Time zone+3


These islands, along with Mayotte, were a French protectorate at the start of the 20th century. On 1912-07-25, they became French colonies. They gained full independence on 1975-07-06, leaving Mayotte behind as a French possession (by a local vote).

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Comorerne, Den Islamiske Forbundsrepublik Comorerne
  2. Dutch: Kamaran, Comoren, Unie der Comoren (formal)
  3. English: Union of the Comoros (formal)
  4. Finnish: Komorit
  5. French: Comores fp, Union f des Comores (formal)
  6. German: Komoren f
  7. Icelandic: Kómoreyjar
  8. Italian: Comore fp
  9. Norwegian: Komorene, Den islamske forbundsrepublikk Komorene (formal) (Bokmål), Komorane, Den islamske sambandsrepublikken Komorane (formal) (Nynorsk)
  10. Portuguese: Comores, Comoros, União f das Comores fp (formal)
  11. Russian: Коморы, Союз Коморских Островов (formal)
  12. Spanish: Comoras fp, Unión f de las Comoras fp (formal)
  13. Swedish: Comorerna, Komorerna
  14. Turkish: Komoros

Origin of name: 

Arabic qamar: moon

Primary subdivisions: 

Comoros is divided into three autonomous islands.

Autonomous IslandHASCISOFIPSPopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
Grande ComoreKM.GCGCN02295,6651,148443Moroni
3 islands590,1511,862719

Territorial extent: 

The territory of each autonomous island includes one major island of the Comoro Archipelago and the islets in its immediate vicinity.

The UN LOCODE page  for Comoros lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

  1. 1975-07-06: Mayotte separated from Comoros when the latter became independent.
  2. 2002-04-07: Status of subdivisions changed from governorates to autonomous islands.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Anjouan: Andjouan (Arabic); Johanna (obsolete); Ndzouani, Ndzuwani (Komori); Nzwani (Comoran)
  2. Grande Comore: Andjazidja (Arabic); Ngazidja (Komori)
  3. Mohéli: Mouhili (Arabic); Mwali (Komori)

Population history:

Autonomous Island1980-09-151991-09-152003-09
Grande Comore192,177233,533295,665
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2001-2005, 2010, 2011, 2015 by Gwillim Law.