British Indian Ocean Territory

Buy data    Donate


Geopolitical Entities, Names, and Codes (GENC) has country codes for both British Indian Ocean Territory and Diego Garcia. It has had them since it was first published on 2012-09-01, but I didn't notice them right away. The codes for Diego Garcia are DG and DGA. GENC's purpose is to mimic ISO 3166 as a United States standard, with variations and extensions as needed. I'm at a loss to know why separate codes are needed for Diego Garcia.

Country overview: 

ISO codeIO
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone+6


A British possession, created in 1965 for mutual military use by the United Kingdom and the United States.

Other names of country: 

  1. Dutch: Brits Indische oceaan
  2. French: Territoire m britannique de l' Océan m Indien
  3. German: Britisches Territorium n im Indischen Ozean m
  4. Italian: Territorio m Britannico dell'oceano m Indiano
  5. Portuguese: Território m Britânico do Oceano m Índico
  6. Icelandic: Díegó Garsía
  7. Russian: Архипелаг Чагос (variant), Британская территория в Индийском океане
  8. Spanish: Territorio m Británico del Océano m Índico
  9. Turkish: Hint Okyanusu İngiliz Sömürgeleri

Origin of name: 

Descriptive: British possession in Indian Ocean

Primary subdivisions: 

British Indian Ocean Territory has no known administrative divisions.

British Indian Ocean TerritoryIO.IO06023

Postal codes: 

According to Stefan Vogel, British Indian Ocean Territory has the postal code BBND 1ZZ as part of the U.K. system. In the U.S. system, its postal code is 96595 (for military mail).

Territorial extent: 

Territory includes the atolls of Diego Garcia, Eagle, Egmont, Peros Banhos, and Salomon. These are collectively known as the Chagos Archipelago (formerly, the Oil Islands). Although there is no permanent population, there is a U.S. naval facility on Diego Garcia.

The UN LOCODE page  for British Indian Ocean Territory lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

  1. 1965-11-08: Territory was created from parts of Mauritius and Seychelles.
  2. 1976-06-29: Aldabra Island, Desroches Island, and Farquhar Island restored to Seychelles. Administrative headquarters moved from Victoria, Seychelles, to London, U.K.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2004, 2005, 2011, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.