Districts of Hong Kong

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu pointed me to the newly released results of the 2011 census.

Country overview: 

Short nameHONG KONG
ISO codeHK
LanguageChinese (zh), English (en)
Time zone+8


In 1900, Hong Kong proper (the island and Kowloon) was a British crown colony, and the British also had a 99-year lease on the New Territories. The Japanese occupied the territory during World War II. On 1984-12-19, the British and Chinese governments agreed that Hong Kong would become a Special Administrative Region of China on 1997-07-01, and so it did.

Other names of country: 

  1. Chinese: Xianggang
  2. French: Hong Kong
  3. Italian: Hong Kong
  4. Russian: Специальный административный район Гонконг (formal)
  5. Spanish: Hong Kong
  6. Swedish: Hongkong
  7. Turkish: Hong Kong Özel Çin İdaresi (formal)

Origin of name: 

Chinese xiang: perfume, gang: port (i.e. the port of perfumes)

Primary subdivisions: 

Hong Kong is divided into eighteen districts. The districts in New Territories are rural districts; the others are urban.

Central and WesternHK.CWHKI251,519261,884125Central (Victoria)
EasternHK.EAHKI588,094616,199197Sai Wan Ho
IslandsHK.ISNT141,32786,66717467Mui Wo, Cheung Chau
Kowloon CityHK.KCKow377,351381,352104Hung Hom
Kwai TsingHK.KINT511,167477,092239Kwai Chung
Kwun TongHK.KUKow622,152562,427114Kwun Tong
Sai KungHK.SKNT436,627327,68913552Tseung Kwan O
Sham Shui PoHK.SSKow380,855353,55093Sham Shui Po
Sha TinHK.STNT630,273628,6346926Shatin Station
Tai PoHK.TPNT296,853310,87914857Tai Po
Tsuen WanHK.TWNT304,637275,5276224Tsuen Wan
Tuen MunHK.TMNT487,546488,8318533Tuen Mun
Wan ChaiHK.WCHKI152,608167,146104Wan Chai
Wong Tai SinHK.WTKow420,183444,63094San Po Kong
Yau Tsim MongHK.YTKow307,878282,02073Mongkok
Yuen LongHK.YLNT578,529449,07013853Yuen Long
18 districts7,070,3886,708,3891,095422
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • Sec: section of the territory (HKI = Hong Kong Island, Kow = Kowloon,
    NT = New Territories)
  • Pop-2011: 2011-06-30 census.
  • Pop-2001: 2001-03-14 census. Total includes 5,895 "marine" residents.
  • Capital: Location of the district board office.

Further subdivisions:

In Hong Kong's local government structure, municipal councils are under the district boards.

Territorial extent: 

  1. The sections of Kowloon Area and New Territories are attached to the Chinese mainland.
  2. Islands includes Lantau, Lamma, Tsing Yi, Kau Sai Chau, Tung Lung, Po Toi, and other islands.

The UN LOCODE page  for Hong Kong lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Kowloon: Chinese for nine dragons.
  2. Tsuen Wan: Chinese for shallow bay.

Change history: 

1974-04: Sha Tin and Tuen Mun districts created. These were the divisions of Hong Kong at this time.

Home Affairs DepartmentHong KongCentral
Wan Chai
KowloonKowloon City
Kwun Tong
Mong Kok
Sham Shui Po
Wong Tai Sin
Yau Ma Tei
New Territories AdministrationIslands
Sai Kung
Sha Tin
Tai Po
Tsuen Wan
Tuen Mun
Yuen Long
  1. 1982: The district boards were established.
  2. ~1983: Kwai Chung/Tsing Yi district (later called Kwai Tsing) split from Tsuen Wan.
  3. ~1991: Mong Kok and Yau Ma Tei districts merged to form Yau Tsim Mong.


  1. [1] Hong Kong Annual Digest of Statistics, 1989 Edition. Census and Statistics Dept., Hong Kong, 1989-11.
  2. [2] 2011 Hong Kong Population Census , Census Results, Main Tables: Population by Sex, Age and District Council District, 2011 (A204), retrieved 2012-06-02.
  3. [3] Census and Statistics Department , 2001 Population Census (retrieved 2004-02-03).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2001, 2003-2005, 2007, 2010-2012, 2015 by Gwillim Law.