Parishes of Grenada

Buy data    Donate


ISO 3166-2 Newsletter I-8, published on 2007-04-17, has new ISO parish codes for Grenada. They are shown in the table below. They replace codes from a draft version, ISO/DIS 2166-2, which had not been supported. (The current document uses the name "Southern Grenadine Islands" instead of "Carriacou".)

International standard ISO 3166-2 was published on 1998-12-15. It superseded ISO/DIS 3166-2 (draft international standard). For Grenada, the draft standard showed six parishes with their codes. The final standard mentions that there are six parishes, but declines to specify names or codes. It says that these divisions are "not relevant".

Country overview: 

Short nameGRENADA
ISO codeGD
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone-4
CapitalSaint George's


Grenada was a British colony at the beginning of the 20th century. It became a territory of the West Indies Federation on 1958-01-03. The Federation was dissolved on 1962-05-31. Some plans were proposed for a federation of the Windward Islands, but they came to nothing. Grenada became an independent country on 1974-02-07.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Grenada
  2. Dutch: Grenada, Grenada (formal)
  3. Finnish: Grenada
  4. French: Grenade f
  5. German: Grenada n
  6. Italian: Grenada f
  7. Norwegian: Grenada
  8. Portuguese: Granada, Grenada f
  9. Russian: Гренада
  10. Spanish: Granada
  11. Swedish: Grenada
  12. Turkish: Grenada

Origin of name: 

Named by Columbus after the city in Spain, to commemorate its recapture from the Moors.

Primary subdivisions: 

Grenada is divided into six parishes and one dependency.

Saint AndrewGD.AN01GJ0124,6619135Grenville
Saint DavidGD.DA02GJ0211,4764718Saint David's
Saint GeorgeGD.GE03GJ0335,5596726Saint George's
Saint JohnGD.JO04GJ048,5573915Gouyave
Saint MarkGD.MA05GJ053,955239Victoria
Saint PatrickGD.PA06GJ0610,6244417Sauteurs
7 divisions100,895345133


Note: The FIPS standard has omitted Carriacou. If you must give it a FIPS code, use the code for Saint Patrick, which is the closest parish.

Territorial extent: 

  1. Carriacou consists of several islands, of which the largest are Carriacou itself and Petit Martinique (sometimes called Petite Martinique or Little Martinique). It extends from Petit Martinique to Large Island.
  2. Saint George includes Glover Island.
  3. Saint Patrick includes some small islands in the Southern Grenadines. The largest of them is Ronde Island; the farthest north are Diamond Island and Les Tantes.

The UN LOCODE page  for Grenada lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Carriacou: Southern Grenadine Islands (variant)
  2. Saint George: Saint George's (variant)

Population history:

Saint Andrew22,53622,42524,13524,661
Saint David10,61810,19511,01111,476
Saint George29,86029,36931,99435,559
Saint John8,6108,3288,7528,557
Saint Mark3,9423,9683,8613,955
Saint Patrick11,25610,13210,11810,624
7 divisions92,77289,08895,597100,895


  1. [1] Carribean Community  (CariCom) website. 1991 and 2001 preliminary census results for Grenada, adjusted (retrieved 2003-11-12).
  2. [2] 1979 Demographic Yearbook , 31st Ed. Statistical Office, United Nations, New York, 1980 has 1970 census data (retrieved 2011-12-28).
  3. [3] Almanaque Mundial (1992 edition), Editorial America, Virginia Gardens, FL has 1981 census data.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 1999, 2003-2005, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2015 by Gwillim Law.