States of Federated States of Micronesia

Buy data    Donate


I've added population data according to the 2010 census.

Country overview: 

ISO codeFM
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zonesee table


Germany bought almost all of Micronesia--the Caroline, Mariana (excluding Guam), and Marshall Islands--from Spain in the 1890s. The islands were taken by Japan during World War I, and mandated to Japan in 1920 by the League of Nations. The Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands was created on 1947-04-02 and granted in trust to the United States. It contained the islands which are now in the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of Palau, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Marshall Islands. On 1979-05-10, following a vote on self-government, the F.S.M. was formed. It contained most of the Caroline Island group. The four states of the F.S.M. had previously been four of the seven districts of the T.T.P.I. On 1986-11-03, it became a freely associated state of the United States, a status which falls somewhere between a protectorate and an independent country.

Note: Oceania is said to consist of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. All of these names are unofficial, so their extent is determined just by convention. The three divisions are based on the ethnicity of the native inhabitants. In some people's usage Oceania also includes the Malay Archipelago (Indonesia), and even (rarely) Australia and New Zealand.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Mikronesien, Føderale statsforbund Mikronesien, Mikronesiens Forenede Stater
  2. Dutch: Micronesië, Micronesia, Gefedereerde Staten van Micronesië (formal), Federale Staten Micronesië
  3. English: Micronesia (informal)
  4. Finnish: Mikronesia
  5. French: Micronésie, États mp Fédérés de Micronésie f
  6. German: Mikronesien, Föderierte Staaten mp von Mikronesien n
  7. Icelandic: Míkrónesía
  8. Italian: Micronesia, Stati mp Federati di Micronesia
  9. Norwegian: Mikronesiaføderasjonen
  10. Portuguese: Micronésia, Estados mp Federados da Micronésia f (formal)
  11. Russian: Микронезия, Федеративные Штаты Микронезии (formal)
  12. Spanish: Micronesia, Estados mp Federados de Micronesia f
  13. Swedish: Mikronesien, Mikronesiens federerade stater
  14. Turkish: Mikronezya Federe Devletleri (formal)

Origin of name: 

Descriptive: union of island groups in Micronesia (Greek mikros nesos: small island)

Primary subdivisions: 

Federated States of Micronesia is divided into four states.

ChuukFM.CHTRKFM03002+1048,65112749Moen (Wenn)2
KosraeFM.KOKSAFM01005+116,61610942Lelu (Lele)4
YapFM.YAYAPFM04060+1011,37612247Colonia (Yap)3
4 states102,624702271
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • F-6: Codes from FIPS PUB 6-4, representing second-level administrative
    divisions of the United States.
  • Tz: Time zone (offset in hours from UTC).
  • Population: 2010-04-04 census (preliminary; source [3]).
  • Capital: Names in parentheses are newer, more indigenous forms.
  • ZIP: Last digit of ZIP code.


The codes for Federated States of Micronesia in FIPS PUB 5-2 are FM (alpha) and 64 (numeric). When the FIPS 5-2 and 6-4 codes are concatenated, as in 64040 for Pohnpei, the result is a code that uniquely identifies a county-equivalent unit in the United States.

Postal codes: 

Micronesia uses five-digit postal codes from the U.S. system. They all have the form 9694x.

Further subdivisions:

See the Municipalities of the Federated States of Micronesia page.

Territorial extent: 

  1. Chuuk consists of the Chuuk Islands, which are surrounded by barrier reefs and grouped into the Shichiyo Islands (Tol, the largest, Udot, Ulalu) and the Shiki Islands (Moen, the largest, Dublon, Fefan, Uman); the Mortlock Islands, including the Etal, Lukunor, and Satawan Atolls; the Hall Islands, including the East Fayu, Murilo, and Nomwin Atolls; the Magur Islands, including the Namonuito, Pisaras, and Ulul Atolls; and Kuop, Losap, Nama, Namoluk, Pulap, Pulusak, and Puluwat Atolls.
  2. Kosrae consists of just the island of Kosrae.
  3. Pohnpei consists of the Senyavin Islands (Pohnpei Island and the nearby atolls of Ant and Pakin) and other atolls, including Kapingamarangi, Mokil, Ngatik, Nukuoro, Oroluk, and Pingelap.
  4. Yap consists of the Yap Islands (Gagil-Tamil, Maap, Rumung, and Yap), and Eauripik, Elato, Fais, Faraulep, Gaferut, Ifalik, Lamotrek, Ngulu, Olimarao, Piagailoe (West Fayu), Pikelot, Sorol, Ulithi, and Woleai Atolls.
  5. The approximate boundaries of the states, from west to east, are the following longitudes in degrees East: Yap - 148° - Chuuk - 154° - Pohnpei - 162° - Kosrae.

Origins of names: 

  1. Chuuk: Chuukese for mountain
  2. Pohnpei: native word for "upon a stone altar" (refers to a creation legend)

Change history: 

  1. 1977: Kosrae state split from Ponape.
  2. ~1980: Name of the city of Ponape changed to Kolonia; name of the city of Colonia changed to Yap.
  3. 1984-11-08: Name of the state and island of Ponape changed to Pohnpei.
  4. 1989: Capital moved from Kolonia to Palikir (both on the island of Pohnpei).
  5. 1989-10-01: Name of the state of Truk changed to Chuuk; FIPS 6-4 code changed from 050 to 002.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Chuuk: Truk (obsolete)
  2. Kosrae: Kusaie (variant)
  3. Pohnpei: Ponape (obsolete)

Population history:



  1. [1] Europa World Year Book 2001. Europa Publications, London, 2001.
  2. [2] The FSM 2000 Census of Population and Housing : National Census Report. Department of Economic Affairs, Division of Statistics, Palikir, 2002-05. (P. 3, retrieved 2012-01-14).
  3. [3] FSM 2010 Census Preliminary Results . Office of Statistics, Budget & Economic Management, Overseas Development Assistance, and Compact Management (retrieved 2013-06-03).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2013-06-03
Copyright © 2001-2005, 2011-2013 by Gwillim Law.