Parishes of Dominica

Buy data    Donate


I added the 1970 census data from source [4]. Roseau was listed separately from Saint George parish, but I combined the two figures to get the population of Saint George.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter I-8, published on 2007-04-17, has new ISO parish codes for Dominica. They are shown in the table below. They replace codes from a draft version, ISO/DIS 2166-2, which had not been supported.

International standard ISO 3166-2 was published on December 15, 1998. It superseded ISO/DIS 3166-2 (draft international standard). For Dominica, the draft standard showed ten parishes with their codes. The final standard mentions that there are ten parishes, but declines to specify names or codes. It says that these divisions are "not relevant".

Country overview: 

Short nameDOMINICA
ISO codeDM
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone-4


At the beginning of the 20th century, Dominica was one of five presidencies of the Leeward Islands, a British colony. On 1940-01-01, it became a separate British colony. On 1958-04-22, it joined the West Indies Federation. The Federation was dissolved on 1962-05-31. Dominica became independent on 1978-11-03.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Dominica
  2. Dutch: Dominica, Gemenebest Dominica (formal)
  3. English: Commonwealth of Dominica (formal)
  4. Finnish: Dominica
  5. French: Dominique f
  6. German: Dominica n
  7. Icelandic: Dóminíka
  8. Italian: Dominica
  9. Norwegian: Dominica, Samveldet Dominica (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Dominica, Comunidade f da Dominica f (formal)
  11. Russian: Доминика, Содружество Доминики (formal)
  12. Spanish: Dominica, Commonwealth de Dominica (formal)
  13. Swedish: Dominica
  14. Turkish: Dominik

Origin of name: 

discovered by Christopher Columbus on Sunday 1493-11-03 (Spanish domingo: Sunday)

Primary subdivisions: 

Dominica is divided into ten parishes.

Saint AndrewDM.AN02DO0210,24016564
Saint DavidDM.DA03DO036,75812046
Saint GeorgeDM.GO04DO0419,8255521
Saint JohnDM.JN05DO055,3276525
Saint JosephDM.JH06DO065,76511042
Saint LukeDM.LU07DO071,571156
Saint MarkDM.MA08DO081,907156
Saint PatrickDM.PK09DO098,38310039
Saint PaulDM.PL10DO108,3976525
Saint PeterDM.PR11DO111,4524015
10 parishes69,625750289

Territorial extent: 

The country consists of the island of Dominica. Roseau, the capital, lies in Saint George parish.

The UN LOCODE page  for Dominica lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Population history:

Saint Andrew7,00911,93612,74811,10610,240
Saint David4,1276,7077,3376,9776,758
Saint George12,38219,47020,50120,36519,825
Saint John3,6005,2275,4124,9905,327
Saint Joseph4,2056,3626,6066,1835,765
Saint Luke1,6061,6331,5031,5521,571
Saint Mark1,9801,9611,9211,9431,907
Saint Patrick8,05710,0959,7808,9298,383
Saint Paul2,9394,4566,3867,4958,397
Saint Peter1,7191,7011,6011,6431,452


  1. [1] Demographic Yearbook , 7th Ed. Statistical Office of the United Nations, New York, 1955 (retrieved 2011-08-20).
  2. [2] "Ershiyi (21) Shiji Shijie Diming Lu", Beijing, 2001.
  3. [3] "Dominica: Macro-Socio-Economic Assessment Of the damages caused by the Earthquake and Landslides". Table 2, p. 6 had 2001 populations. Document dated 2004-11-21, retrieved 2007-07-19 from
  4. [4] 1979 Demographic Yearbook , 31st Ed. Statistical Office, United Nations, New York, 1980 (retrieved 2011-12-28).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 1999, 2001, 2003-2005, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2015 by Gwillim Law.