Districts of Belize

Buy data    Donate


The results of the 2000 census of Belize have been released.

Country overview: 

Short nameBELIZE
ISO codeBZ
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone-6


Belize started the 20th century as a British colony, under the name of British Honduras (although the region had long been known as Belize). It achieved full independence on 1981-09-21. Guatemala has asserted a claim to its territory through most of the century.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Belize
  2. Dutch: Belize, Belize (formal)
  3. English: British Honduras (obsolete)
  4. Finnish: Belize
  5. French: Belize m, Honduras m britannique (obsolete)
  6. German: Belize n, Britisch-Honduras n (obsolete)
  7. Icelandic: Belís
  8. Italian: Belize m, Honduras m britannico (obsolete)
  9. Norwegian: Belize
  10. Portuguese: Belize, Honduras f Britânicas (obsolete)
  11. Russian: Белиз
  12. Spanish: Belice m, Honduras f Británica (obsolete)
  13. Swedish: Belize
  14. Turkish: Belize

Origin of name: 

Named for Peter Wallace, Scottish buccaneer, Hispanicized as Belice

Primary subdivisions: 

Belize is divided into six districts.

BelizeBZ.BZBZBH0168,1974,2041,623Belize City
Orange WalkBZ.OWOWBH0438,8904,7371,829Orange Walk
Stann CreekBZ.SCSCBH0524,5482,176840Dangriga
ToledoBZ.TOTOLBH0623,2974,6491,795Punta Gorda
6 districts240,20422,9648,866
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: District codes from ISO 3166-2. For full identification in a
    global context, prefix "BZ-" to the code (ex: BZ-CZL represents Corozal).
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4, a U.S. government standard.
  • Population: 2000-05-12 census (source [2]).

Further subdivisions:

See the Subdivisions of Belize page.

Territorial extent: 

Includes barrier islands and reefs from Ambergris Cay at the north to Sapodilla Cays at the south, and as far east as Lighthouse Reef (Half Moon Cay).

The UN LOCODE page  for Belize lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

  1. ~1955: Northern district split into Corozal and Orange Walk districts.
  2. ~1960: An area of 854 sq. km. was transferred from Toledo to Cayo.
  3. 1970-08-03: National capital moved to Belmopan from Belize City.
  4. 1973-06-01: Country name changed from British Honduras to Belize.
  5. ~1990: Capital of Cayo district moved from San Ignacio to Belmopan.

Population history:

Orange Walk5,6075,52010,30616,66622,87030,68138,890
Stann Creek4,8306,37310,90613,04414,18118,08524,548


  1. [1] Library of Congress country study  (retrieved 1999).
  2. [2] Sources for census data: Belize Central Statistical Office (http://www.cso.gov.bz/, dead link, retrieved 2001-04-26) (1991, 2000); The Statesman's Yearbook (1970, 1980); Encyclopædia Britannica World Atlas, 1964 edition (1960); 1957 edition (1946).
  3. [3] Abstract of Statistics, Belize . Belmopan, 2012 (retrieved 2013-07-24) has 1921 census data. It also has separate figures for the 1946 populations of Corozal and Orange Creek, presumably proleptic.
  4. [4] Census 2010 Provisional Population  on the Statistical Institute of Belize website (retrieved 2013-07-24).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2001, 2003-2005, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015 by Gwillim Law.