Districts of Brunei Darussalam

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu sent me a link to the final report of the 2011 census.

Country overview: 

ISO codeBN
Time zone+8
CapitalBandar Seri Begawan


The Sultanate of Brunei was a British protectorate at the beginning of the 20th century. It became independent on 1983-12-31.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Brunei
  2. Dutch: Brunei, Brunei Darussalam
  3. English: State of Brunei Darussalam (formal), Brunei (informal)
  4. Finnish: Brunei
  5. French: Brunéi m Darussalam
  6. German: Brunei n
  7. Icelandic: Brúnei
  8. Italian: Brunei
  9. Malay: Negara Brunei Darussalam (formal)
  10. Norwegian: Brunei, Brunei Darussalam
  11. Portuguese: Brunei m, Estado m do Brunei m Darussalam (formal)
  12. Russian: Бруней, Государство Бруней-Даруссалам (formal)
  13. Spanish: Brunéi Darussalam, "Estado m de Brunéi, Morada f de Paz f" (variant)
  14. Swedish: Brunei
  15. Turkish: Brunei Sultanlığı (formal)

Origin of name: 

Possibly from Sanskrit bhumi: land

Primary subdivisions: 

Brunei is divided into four daerah-daerah (sing. daerah: districts).

BelaitBN.BEBX01K60,7442,7251,052Kuala Belait
Brunei and MuaraBN.BMBX02B279,924570220Bandar Seri Begawan
4 divisions393,3725,7652,226
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes. If periods are replaced
    by hyphens, these are the same as the district codes from ISO standard 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4, a U.S. government standard.
  • Post: The new Brunei postal codes indicate the district by their first letter (see below).
  • Population: 2011-06-20 census (source [5]).

Postal codes: 

Brunei Darussalam uses postal codes (poskod) in the format "aannnn", where the a's represent letters and the n's are digits. The first letter determines the district, and the second letter determines the mukim, where the address is located.

Further subdivisions:

See the Mukims of Brunei Darussalam page.

Territorial extent: 

Temburong is separated from the rest of Brunei by part of Sarawak (Malaysia) and Brunei Bay. However, the bay is only about 10 km. wide, and Brunei claims a 12-mile limit. Therefore, it's possible to go from Temburong to the rest of Brunei without leaving the country's territorial waters. Brunei and Muara contains the island of Pulau Muara Besar.

The UN LOCODE page  for Brunei Darussalam lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

1970-10-05: Name of national capital changed from Brunei to Bandar Seri Begawan.

Other names of subdivisions: 

Brunei and Muara: Brunei-Muara (variant)

Population history:

Belait12,567 42,40050,76852,95755,60260,744
Brunei and Muara18,531 72,800114,231170,107230,030279,924
Temburong 2,712 5,2006,2187,6888,5638,852
Tutong 6,847 15,90021,61529,73038,64943,852
4 divisions40,657136,256192,832260,482332,844393,372


Total population at the census of 1960-08-09 was 83,877.


  1. [1] Details of the Brunei postal code scheme were found on the Brunei Post Office website, at http://www.brunet.bn/gov/post/poskod/skimkod.htm (in Malay), dead link (retrieved 1999-05-29).
  2. [2] Brunei Darussalam Statistical Yearbook 2010 . Department of Economic Planning and Development, 2010. (Retrieved 2011-11-26.)
  3. [3] Demographic Yearbook , 7th Ed. Statistical Office of the United Nations, New York, 1955 (retrieved 2011-08-20).
  4. [4] City Population  website (retrieved 2011-11-26).
  5. [5] Population and Housing Census Report , 2011: Demographic Characteristics. Brunei Department of Statistics (retrieved 2013-10-30).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 1999, 2001, 2003-2005, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015 by Gwillim Law.