Districts of Anguilla

Buy data    Donate


Anguilla is subdivided into fourteen districts. The Anguilla Statistics Unit has published some of the results of the 2001 Census . The tables include population data for the districts of Anguilla from the last four censuses. Anguilla's population censuses were taken on 1960-04-07 (data not available), 1974-04-17, 1984-04-10, 1992-04-13, and 2001-05-09.

Unfortunately for our understanding of Anguilla's administrative geography, the map  accompanying the census report shows not the districts, but ten geographic regions. The relationship between some of the districts and some of the regions can't be deduced from the information given on the site.

Country overview: 

Short nameANGUILLA
ISO codeAI
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone-4
CapitalThe Valley


At the beginning of the 20th century, Anguilla was part of the Leeward Islands, a British colony which consisted of five presidencies. On 1956-06-30, each presidency became a separate colony. Anguilla belonged to the colony of St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla. Anguilla seceded unilaterally on 1967-06-16 from this colony. It was fully recognized as a separate dependency by the mother country on 1980-12-19.

Other names of country: 

  1. Dutch: Anguila
  2. French: Anguilla f
  3. Italian: Anguilla
  4. Portuguese: Anguila
  5. Russian: Ангилья
  6. Spanish: Anguila
  7. Turkish: Anguilla

Origin of name: 

Named by Columbus < Spanish anguila = eel, from the shape of the island

Primary subdivisions: 

Anguilla is divided into fourteen districts.

Blowing PointAI.BP501463802779
East EndAI.EE476420672614
George HillAI.GH304492635791
Island HarbourAI.IH613672744855
North HillAI.NH313288410439
North SideAI.NS  6671,195
Sandy GroundAI.SG242224247274
Sandy HillAI.SH314376364557
South HillAI.SO7749611,1021,495
Stoney GroundAI.ST713 9491,133
The FarringtonAI.TF 222304546
The Quarter (including Rey Hill)AI.TQ742424654978
The Valley (including Upper & South Valley)AI.TV1,0481,7097951,169
West End (including Long Bay)AI.WE479402611736
14 districts6,5196,6538,96011,561


The report notes that "[the population of] North Side [district] was probably included with The Valley and Stoney Ground with Sandy Hill in 1984."

These are the geographic regions and their 2001 populations, according to the census report . The total for the regions differs by one person from the total for the districts. I have no way to account for this.

#1 West End736
#2 South Hill North1,354
#3 Blowing Point & South Hill East1,422
#4 Little Harbour, North Hill, Sandy Ground & West Old Ta1,090
#5 East Old Ta, Rey Hill, The Forest & Long Ground1,051
#6 Valley South, Quarter & Crocus Hill1,151
#7 Valley North & North Side830
#8 Stoney Ground1,497
#9 East End, The Farrington & Sandy Hill Bay1,103
#10 Island Harbour1,326
10 regions11,560

Postal codes: 

On 2007-10-09, Anguilla adopted AI-2640 as the postal code for the whole country. This may be part of a move towards a system of postal codes for the countries of the East Caribbean.

Territorial extent: 

Includes a few small islands and cays, among the larger: Dog Island, Prickly Pear Cays, Scrub Island, Seal Islands, Sombrero Island.

Change history: 

According to "Provinces and Provincial Capitals of the World, Second Edition", by Morris Fisher (1985), Anguilla was divided into seven settlements. Their names were Blowing Point Village, Island Harbour, Long Bay Village, Mount Fortune, Sandy Ground Village, The Valley, and West End Village.

Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2011-06-17
Copyright © 2002-2005, 2009, 2011 by Gwillim Law.